LEARN/KC-CIRCLE

Providing secular homeschooling support

Homeschool Kindergarten Panic

on May 15, 2015
Kieran on his first day of "Kindergarten"

Kieran on his first day of “Kindergarten”

I had a moment of panic at the beginning of my son’s “kindergarten” year when I realized that we are officially homeschooling. My thought was, “Kieran is MISSING his kindergarten year! Are we doing the right thing?! Will he be upset that he’s missed that experience??”

And then I calmed down, because I *know* that what we’re doing is right for him.

We may not go to school in the traditional sense, but we are not short on education. We are active in two different homeschool co-ops (KC-CIRCLE and LEARN), we participate in park/recess days, we attend events that are organized by other groups (the library, other homeschool associations, churches), and we have a thriving social calendar.

We have a daily routine that works for us, and he is flourishing, academically and socially.

But despite my own reassurances, and thinking he might appreciate a more traditional “kindergarten experience,” we tried a one day/week supplemental program. There was a teacher, 16 other kids, and a structured day. And he hated it so much that he didn’t last a month.

But you know what he doesn’t hate? Hanging out with me on the couch absorbing ancient history. Getting lost in math games on the computer. Playing chess with mama or papa. Going to “forest school” with a group of friends. Experiencing different educational settings, a wide assortment of age groups, and the ability to follow his interests as fully as he wants.

Kieran Chess

So as I read all of the Facebook statuses about the end of the school year, and I see kids who have happily completed another year at school, I’m beginning another season of homeschooling without any angst. I’m proud of the families who choose different educational journeys – and I’m proud of us!

I’m sure that moment of homeschool panic won’t be the last one. I have a feeling it is something shared by parents no matter where or how their children are learning.

__________________________________

Article edited from a previous version published on Code Name: Mama.

Leave a Reply

